November 28, 2018

"Third Ear Band" out on December 7th, 2018, "Macbeth" on January 25th, 2019.

News from the Cherry Red-Esoteric Recordings with TEB's remastered albums (re)scheduled here:

no©2018 Luca Chino Ferrari (unless you intend to make a profit. In which case, ask first)

November 27, 2018

Errata corrige, my apologies...

Dear Third Ear Band readers,
the recent wonderful 3 CDs remastered edition with the original "Elements" album shows a big, incredible misunderstanding: on side One, the track n. 6 is not "The Sea" ("Fire") as printed on the cover but actually "Water".
This rough error was due to the fact I couldn't listen to the unrealised tracks and Cherry Red told me just that title because it was printed on the original reel box.

For the future, I asked them to let me listen to all the unrealised tracks before to write the booklet. In fact, for "Macbeth" Cherry Red firstly told me the unrealised tracks was five: three from a studio session at Trident Studios recorded in December 1970 and two from a radio programme recorded in January 1972 by a 'strange' line-up including Buckmaster, Bridges, House and Pavli.
Just listening to the tracks I realized the radio programme was older because all the instruments were acoustic and I identified Ursula Smith's violin and probably a viola played by Richard Coff. Also, the tunes were three and not two as stated.
Thus I suggested to cut the tracks off for using them on the remastered edition of "Alchemy"...
So I'm sorry for this naff mistake but it's not my fault...

no©2018 Luca Chino Ferrari (unless you intend to make a profit. In which case, ask first)

November 23, 2018

The remastered "Elements" album out now!

Thanks, Cherry Red Records-Esoteric Recordings here's the wonderful remastered album every TEB fans was waiting...

The "Elements" album is now out in a brilliant 3CDs edition with:

- the original legendary four tracks about elements (1970 Harvest album) 
- the complete "Abelard & Heloise" TV soundtrack (remastered from the original German masters);
- twenty unrealized tracks from the vaults and BBC radio sessions (1970-1971): actually the real unrealized tracks are eight, because the other tracks included are "Abelard & Heloise" soundtrack (6 tracks) and two radio programmes already realised by Gonzo Multimedia  (6 tracks);
- a long historical essay by your devote LCF...

                                                (photos by  Elena Blasi)



no©2018 Luca Chino Ferrari (unless you intend to make a profit. In which case, ask first)

November 17, 2018

"Macbeth" scheduled with three unrealized tracks!

Just finished writing the booklet of new TEB remastered CD, no dates of publication yet.
Here below you can read the official schedule of Esoteric Recordings about "Macbeth" soundtrack with three unrealized tracks in, the definitive edition... 
Working on the text I've been so lucky to listen to the tracks and, apart from the great sound quality, they sound fantastic! 
So, dear TEB aficionados, stay tuned! 

"Music From Macbeth" track listing
THIRD EAR BAND: “Music from Macbeth”
Released as Harvest SHSP 4019 in March 1972
  1. Overture
  2. The Beach
  3. Inverness: Macbeth's Return / The Preparation / Fanfare / Duncan's Arrival
  4. The Banquet
  5. Dagger and Death
  6. At the Well / The Princes' Escape / Coronation / Come Sealing Night
  7. Court Dance
  8. Fleance
  9. Groom’s Dance
  10. Bear Baiting
  11. Ambush / Banquo’s Ghost
  12. Going to Bed / Blind Man's Buff / Requiscant / Sere and Yellow Leaf
  13. The Cauldron
  14. Prophecies
  15. Wicca Way

Previously unreleased bonus tracks:
  1. Court Dance (first version)
  2. Groom’s Dance (first version)
  3. Fleance (first version)
Recorded and mixed at Trident studios, London – 5th December 1970
Previously unreleased

Music from Macbeth:

Third Ear Band

Paul Minns Oboe and Recorder
Glen Sweeney Drums
Paul Buckmaster Cello and Bass Guitar
Simon House Violin and VCS 3
Denim Bridges Guitars

Produced by Andrew King and Third Ear Band for Blackhill Enterprises Ltd.
Recorded at AIR Studios, London
Engineered by Dave Harries

All compositions written by Denim Bridges, Glen Sweeney, Paul Minns and Paul Buckmaster

no©2018 Luca Chino Ferrari (unless you intend to make a profit. In which case, ask first)

November 09, 2018

Cherry Red Records' plans for the future...

The next Cherry Red’s Third Ear Band reissue is “Music from Macbeth”, a single CD with few unrealized tracks taken from the vaults. The booklet will be edited and written by Luca Chino Ferrari.

For the beginning of 2019, Cherry Red is planning a big reissue of “Alchemy”, a triple CD with a great amount of unrealized/alternate tracks, BBC radio programmes, and curiosities...

no©2018 Luca Chino Ferrari (unless you intend to make a profit. In which case, ask first)